About the Committee

When the Arboretum and Landscape Committee was created in 1949 by President Colgate W. Darden, its purpose was to advise on planting and removing trees on the Central Grounds. Since then the activities and role of the Committee have expanded to include reviewing capital project site and landscape concept plans as well as precinct and corridor plans. Reporting to the Office of Senior Vice President for Operations, the Committee is made up of faculty, staff, and student members representing the various areas of Grounds, including Central, West, North, and the Health System. Members serve on two-year appointments, eligible for three terms.

Official Committee Charge

The Arboretum and Landscape Committee is charged by the Office of the Senior Vice President for Operations with exercising broad general oversight of the University’s landscape and site planning. The Committee shall advise the Senior Vice President for Operations, through the Architect for the University, concerning all matters related to landscape and site planning. The Committee will review and make recommendations for all significant new landscape and site concept designs, including those associated with capital projects, as well as any proposed alterations to areas within the University Grounds. The Committee will also review precinct and corridor plans proposed for Grounds and review any elective removals of healthy trees. The Committee shall support Blandy Farm and consult with its resident Director regarding matters related to the State Arboretum as may be appropriate. The Committee will administer the Lewis and Seward Funds to decide on the judicious application of its resources. The Committee will also forward a nomination to the Office of the President each spring for the recipient of the Founders Day tree planted annually.

Current Committee Roster

Appointments to the committee represent a broad cross section of the schools and departments within the University. Members serve on two-year appointments, attending monthly meetings throughout the calendar year. Please feel free to contact any committee member with your input, questions and concerns regarding the University grounds and landscape.


Worthy Martin, Chair
Faculty, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Anna Townes
Director of Space Planning and Management, College of Arts and Sciences

Randy Speight
Director of Facilities, School of Medicine

Nancy Takahashi
Professor, School of Architecture

Eric Nagy
Professor, Arts and Sciences

David Vander Meulen
Professor of English, Arts and Sciences

Diddy Morris 
Special Assistant to Dean of Law School

Bryan Lewis 
Assistant Dean of Technology and Operations, McIntire School of Commerce

Sally Lebeau 
Director of Volunteer Services Health System

Dick Minturn 
Senior Academic Facility Planner, Office of the Provost

Cate Liverman,
Medical Alumni Association


Chris Porter

Graduate student in Landscape Architecture

Lily Roberts
Undergraduate student in Architecture


Erica Perkins
Executive Director/Associate Athletics Director,
UVA Intramural-Recreational Sports

Brian Hogg
Senior Historic Preservation Planner

Rich Hopkins
Superintendent of Landscape, Facilities Management

Rachel Lloyd
Senior Landscape Architect, Office of the Architect

J. James Murray
Professor Emeritus, Biology Department

Patricia L. Romer
Director of Plans and Programs, Housing Division

Helen Wilson
Landscape Architect, Office of the Architect


Mark Webb
Associate Director of Work Management